10.10.10, the day of events!

Most of us already know that on Sunday, the 10th of October 2010 Ubuntu 10.10, will be released. As much as I am looking forward to this event, I also happen to have some other exciting simultaneous events on the very same day!

Event No.1: Ubuntu 10.10

Starting with the release of Ubuntu, like always, I’ll be celebrating! However this time I might not be at home! I probably would be out for another event which might not have anything to do with Ubuntu or Linux! But I can’t really miss it, going to mention it as event 2! Sadly, this time I might not be able to do what I am accustomed to, celebrating with my family (PCs and linux/distro puppets) over the IRC, sorry #OMG!Ubuntu! But hey, I’ll still wear that Ubuntu T-shirt I made for Ubuntu 10.04 ;)

Event No.2: BarCamp Kuwait 2010

Now the reason why this time will be different! It’s because BarCamp is taking place in my country, Kuwait, this year! W00T! Yes, it’ll be on Sunday as well from 2:00 PM till 8:PM! Sadly, I wont be able to attend right from the beginning because of some classes I have, but once I’m finished I’ll… Oh yeah I don’t have a car … ummm … yeah, I’ll take a taxi right away!

I am really looking forward to it as well cause my friend Loolykinns, the founder of Q8GEEKS.ORG, is going to give a speech over there about ARP packet injection, … which might be the most interesting subject :/ Yes, I have doubts that this might not go very well! One thing for sure, if I was told earlier, I would’ve prepared something about linux or Ubuntu just to have some variation and a little bit of everything! Anyways, if you’re interested, follow these links:

  • BarCamp Kuwait Official webpage: link
  • Source of info: link
  • Q8GEEKS discussion, informative: link

Event No.3: GNU/Linux day

Now, the last simultaneous event! The “GNU/Linux day” event on FaceBook! Here I’ll quote:

Author: Tips-linux Net


Heres the idea, on October 10 (10/10/10) we will change our profile pictures to Tux so people will take notice. Most people have never heard of Linux and that’s not good if we want companies to support our community. 10/10/10 is the release date of Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat but the whole Linux community can benefit from something like this. We all have our favorite distro, but if we’re to be honest, if Linux is going to be recognized in the Desktop market it’s going to be Ubuntu making happen. 

Continue reading here

Yes, I’ll be attending :) And I’d like to thank all of those who accepted my invitation for this event! I know, I’ll be out most of the day, … wait let me correct this, all of the day! But hey, who said we won’t have internet access at BarCamp?! So I might get online from time to time! As for this event, I’m ready already. I made my own customized tux for this event! And know what made me happier? When I got some replies telling me that they will be wearing _my_ tux on 10.10.10 XD

So that’s it for now, thanks for reading! Don’t forget to comment, rate, and subscribe! <– YouTube Triple XD
Enjoy all ~

~ by AnxiousNut on October 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
